Wyandot County Regional Planning Commission

The Wyandot Regional Planning Commission was formed in 1969 through a cooperative agreement between the Wyandot County Commissioners and the township trustees and the planning commissions of municipalities.

The commissioners of Wyandot County are granted this authority by the State of Ohio (ORC 711) and delegate this authority to the Wyandot Regional Planning Commission. The commission has the authority to delegate specific duties to a paid director.

The Wyandot Regional Planning Commission is made up of nine at-large representatives from the townships, a representative from the Board of Commissioners, a County Extension Educator, a representative from the Public Health Commissioner, Soil and Water and County Engineer's office. In addition, two citizen representatives serve on the commission.

The scope of the responsibilities of the planning commission is spelled out in the revised code. The commission is guided by the Wyandot County Subdivision Regulations in the course of their duties on the commission.

This document, updated by the commission and effective as of January 1, 2005 is the primary means of protecting the public interest and complying with state law. The subdivision regulations spell out the criteria required to divide property in the unincorporated areas of the county.  

The reason for having subdivision regulations is to ensure that all lots in the county have access to roads, that lots can support a septic system, that roads in the county meet a specific standard and that there is access for utilities. A set of regulations governing how land is divided in a county gives property owner's confidence that they have the full intended use of that property.

Meeting Times and Location

The Wyandot Regional Planning Commission meets on the third Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm in the Assembly meeting room of the Wyandot County Courthouse located at 109 S. Sandusky Room 16. All meeting are open to the public.


109 S. Sandusky Ave.
Room 16
Upper Sandusky, Ohio 43351

Phone (419) 294-4931
Fax (419) 294-6415




Document Actions

Ohio State University Extension embraces human diversity and is committed to ensuring that all research and related educational programs are available to clientele on a nondiscriminatory basis without regard to age, ancestry, color, disability, gender identity or expression, genetic information, HIV/AIDS status, military status, national origin, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, or veteran status. This statement is in accordance with United States Civil Rights Laws and the USDA.

Keith L. Smith, Associate Vice President for Agricultural Administration; Associate Dean, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences; Director, Ohio State University Extension; and Gist Chair in Extension Education and Leadership.

For Deaf and Hard of Hearing, please contact Ohio State University Extension using your preferred communication (e-mail, relay services, or video relay services). Phone 1-800-750-0750 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST Monday through Friday. Inform the operator to dial 614-292-6181.